Holiday accommodation located in an idyllic spot on the tip of the Ards Peninusla with views over Barr Hall Bay and Strangford Lough.
3 bedroom barn, with wheelchair accessible ground floor bathroom and open plan living, dining and kitchen area.
2 bedroom cottage, with open plan living kitchen and dining area.Stunning views over Barr Hall Bay to the Mourne Mountain
Open plan living, kitchen and dining area on ground floor, with twin bedroom on mezzanine.
The Strangford Lough area is steeped in history. It boasts 4th century Christian associations with the presence of St Patrick around Downpatrick and the Lecale area. Its coastline is dotted with abbey ruins and early Christian sites which were ruined by Vikings in the 9th and 10th centuries. Thereafter is a Norman legacy of fortified castles and houses around parts of the Lough all associated with the De Courcy family and their feudal retainers.
A Brief History
Local records indicate that there have been buildings on this site from the late 1600's. The builder himself is supposed to have been buried in Slanes Cemetery near Cloghy in or about 1704. The road alongside the site used to run diagonally through the yard as indicated by a late 18th century survey map. The lands and property at Barr Hall appear to have been in the possession of the Savage/Nugent family from the early 1600's until sold as a farm in or about 1935. During that period until 1935 Barr Hall is thought to have been the principal residence of the Savage family in the Upper Ards. There are consistent records of the rent roll due to them from the surrounding townlands.